FTD Frost Flowers

Posted On March 4, 2008

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 8 responses

Saturday morning, before the high winds, I took some photographs of the frost flowers growing on the test pit at the ice camp just off our test site. After the existing ice is removed (twice daily), new ice forms and frost flowers grow on its surface. IF they aren’t destroyed by wind or blowing snow, I photograph them and take samples.

This ‘crop’ was scattered clusters approximately 4-5 inches (10 cm) in diameter- I call them ‘carnations.’ If left undisturbed, they would have eventually completely covered the surface of the test hole. I apologize for the size of these images, if they take too long to load on your system.

ff_030208_1030e.png

ff_030208_1036e.png

I also took closeups using a microscope camera. Scale to follow.

ff_70x_led_5.png

ff_65x_030208_08e.png

ff_65x_030208_11e.png 

8 Responses to “FTD Frost Flowers”

  1. yo son

    yoyoyo, hohoho, time to play, in the snow!

  2. Mama Bear

    These are the prettiest frost flowers yet! They should win photo contests. We get to scrape your windshield nearly every morning, but somehow it’s just not the same. However, Long Road is now lined with blooming daffodils.
    Please keep your feet dry.

  3. Sis

    Do frost flowers form in ways similar to snowflakes?

  4. Sis

    Also:

    Kingdom: Plantae

    Phylum: Frostophyta

    Genus: Anthos

    Species: Rachelensis

  5. Henry Palmer

    Great pictures

  6. evie obbard

    Hi Rachel – I am at Mary Ellen’s (next door neighbor) and she found your “blog.” WOW!
    Love, Evie

  7. Friend of Sis

    Hi! You don’t know me, but I’m a friend of your sister, and she told me about your blog. I’ve really been enjoying reading it! Your photos are amazing…and those frost flowers are really something!

    Take care,
    Carrie

  8. Gabriela Santos

    Hi!

    I am finishing my thesis on bromine and ozone in the troposphere. I was wandering around internet and saw your pictures and found them really beautiful. I would like to ask permission to use the third one on the interior cover of the monograph. Obviously, I will write its author.

    I will come here later to check the response.

    Thanks,

    Gb

Leave a Reply

